Search

Front and back views


Homescreen


Status bar
The Status bar provides device information on the right side and notification alerts on the left.



Factory data reset

You can reset your device to factory defaults, erasing all data from your device.

This action permanently erases ALL data from the device, including Google or other account settings, system and application data and settings, downloaded applications, as well as your music, photos, videos, and other files. Any data stored on an external SD card is not affected.

Note: When you sign in to a Google Account on your device, Factory Reset Protection is activated. This protects your device in the event it is lost or stolen.

If you reset your device to factory default settings with the Factory Reset Protection (FRP) feature activated, you must enter the user name and password for a registered Google Account to regain access to the device. You will not be able to access the device without the correct credentials.

Warning: If you reset your Google Account password, it can take 24 hours for the password reset to sync with all devices registered to the account.

Before resetting your device:

  1. Verify that the information you want to keep has transferred to your storage area.
  2. Log in to your Google Account and confirm your user name and password.


To reset your device:
  1. From Settings, tap General management > Reset > Factory data reset.
  2. Tap Reset and follow the prompts to perform the reset.
  3. When the device restarts, follow the prompts to set up your device.

Factory reset protection
When you sign in to a Google Account on your device, Factory Reset Protection is activated. Factory Reset Protection (FRP) prevents other people from using your device if it is reset to factory settings without your permission. For example, if your device is lost or stolen and a factory data reset is performed, only someone with your Google Account username and password can use the device.

You will not be able to access the device after a factory data reset if you do not have your Google Account username and password.

Caution: Before shipping your device back to Samsung or taking it to your nearest Samsungauthorized service center, you should remove your Google Account before resetting the device back to factory settings. For more information, visit samsung.com/us/support/frp.

Enable factory reset protection
Adding a Google Account to your device automatically activates the FRP security feature.

Disable factory reset protection To disable FRP, remove all Google Accounts from the device. To reset your device:

  1. From Settings, tap Cloud and accounts > Accounts > [Google account]
  2. Tap Remove account.





Use Tablet As a Hotspot
The Samsung tablets can also be used as hotspots. To turn on the built-in hotspot, swipe left on the main screen and tap the Mobile Hotspot icon. (You could also swipe up, tap the T-Mobile folder, and then tap the Mobile Hotspot icon.)
Tap the switch in the upper right corner to “on.” When you first turn on the hotspot, it will prompt you to enter a password. Create a password and hit Save.
Two or three different windows will appear. A window will alert you that Wi-Fi is now turned off. Tap OK. Another window will ask if you would like to learn more about using the mobile hotspot. If you choose OK, you will see an additional window with more information.

The tablet can use its own hotspot instead of connecting to a different Wi-Fi network. To connect another device to the hotspot, go to that device’s Wi-Fi settings and select “Samsung Galaxy Tab A 8,” then enter the password you created.

Note: if you are connected to the hotspot with another device and not using the tablet, the tablet will automatically go into standby mode after several minutes of inactivity. This will disconnect your other device from the hotspot.