Search

  • VetNowVetNow is focused on supporting Veterans especially returning Vets and their families. VetNow provides career and academic assistance for returning veterans during their transition back to civilian life.
  • NoveListPlusNeed help finding a good book? Novelist Plus provides reviews, book discussion guides, and guidance to your next great read.
  • CreativebugIntroducing CreativeBug! Thousands of art and craft classes, videos, patterns, and inspiration.
  • NoveList K-8Need help finding a good book for kindergartners through eighth grade? Novelist K-8 provides reading levels and more for the grade schoolers looking for their next great read.
  • Reference SolutionsDetailed information on 24 million businesses, 262 million consumers, US new businesses, US new homeowners and movers. Useful information for small businesses, movers, job seekers and more!
  • World Book OnlineWorld Book combines technology with traditional editorial excellence to produce authoritative, trustworthy and unbiased information. The content is carefully curated and meticulously written to be easily understood.
Auto & Engine Repair
Gale: ChiltonLibrary

Gale: ChiltonLibrary is a searchable database of detailed instructions for repairs and maintenance of both foreign and domestic vehicles.  
Small Engine Repair Reference Center

Search by product type, brand or model for maintenance and repair guides. Includes engines on all-terrain vehicles, generators, boat motors, motorcycles, lawnmowers, tractors and more!  
Business Resources
Business Abstracts

Business Abstracts offers access to a comprehensive list of full text business magazines and scholarly journals.  
Business Continuity & Disaster Recovery Reference Center

Business Continuity & Disaster Recovery Reference Center is a full-text database designed to support continuity experts and information professionals. It covers all aspects of business continuity and disaster recovery (BC/DR), including risk evaluation, emergency preparedness and crisis communications.  
Business Source Complete

With premium full-text content and peer-reviewed business journals, this database is an essential tool for business students. It covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more.  
Gale Legal Forms

Gale Legal Forms provides access to Texas legal forms such as wills, leases, powers of attorney, and divorce. Gale Legal Forms also contains an attorney directory.  
Legal Information Reference Center

Legal Information Reference Center provides forms and full text for top consumer legal reference books.  
Morningstar

Morningstar provides investment research, including stock and fund analysis, reports, and tools, as well as company, investing, and financial news.  
NewsBank

Unmatched U.S. news content from local, regional, and national sources, this resource is the largest of its kind.  
Reference Solutions

Detailed information on 24 million businesses, 262 million consumers, US new businesses, US new homeowners and movers. Useful information for small businesses, movers, job seekers and more! (formerly ReferenceUSA)  
Regional Business News

Searches the EBSCO databases for news articles relevant to doing business.  
Small Business Reference Center

Detailed "how-to" instructions buying, running, managing, or selling a small business. Also includes a start-up information for each state and full text NOLO eBooks.  
Genealogy & History
Ancestry Plus

Ancestry Plus allows you to search census and voter records; birth, marriage and death records; military records; and immigration and travel records for links to your family tree. Home access has been extended through June 30, 2021.  
Bibliography of Native North Americans

This bibliographic database covers many topics pertaining to native North Americans, including culture, history and daily life. This resource is ideal for researching the contributions, struggles and issues surrounding North America's indigenous peoples.  
Family Search

FamilySearch is a nonprofit family history organization dedicated to connecting families across generations. FamilySearch believes that families bring joy and meaning to life.  
Handbook of Texas Online

Explore Texas with articles on people, places, and events.  
HeritageQuest Online

HeritageQuest Online allows you to trace family lineage by letting you search the U.S. federal census records from 1790-1940, Revolutionary War files, family and local histories, and more.  
Sanborn Maps

Historical maps of Texas broken down by city and county as well as certain years.  
Texas Reference Center

Search for news about Texas using the EBSCO databases.  

Government & Politics
Congress.gov

Congress.gov provides legislative information. Users can research bills and see information about voting, floor activities and even watch hearing videos.  
US Government Publishing Office

US Government Publishing Office.  
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints

Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints is a rich resource for debaters and includes pro/con viewpoints, reference articles, interactive maps, infographics, and more  
ProCitizen

ProCitizen is an online course to prepare New Americans for the civics, reading, and writing parts of the USCIS Naturalization Test. Includes 100 instructional videos in both English and Spanish.  
U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets

U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets, previously called Background Notes, this is an updating collection of essential information on the countries of the world provided by the U.S. Department of State. The information provided includes countries history, economies, geography, population, government, religions, relations with the U.S., human rights reports, travel and passport information, and more.  
Health & Medicine
BioMed Central

BioMed Central Open Access Journals offers access to journals covering all areas of biology, biomedicine and medicine and includes broad interest titles.  
Consumer Health Complete

This resource provides content covering all key areas of health and wellness, from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary and holistic medicine.  
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine

Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine provides access to full-text nursing and allied health journals, magazines, newsletters and select consumer health information sources with full-text reference works and hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries.  
Health Source Academic Edition

EBSCO Health Source Academic Edition provides searchable access to scholarly full text medical journals.  
Medline Plus

MedlinePlus provides up-to-date information on over 950 diseases and conditions from the National Institutes of Health and includes directories, a medical dictionary and encyclopedia. Extensive information on prescription and nonprescription medicine can also be found here.  
Natural & Alternative Treatments

Natural & Alternative Treatments contains detailed information on the conventional and natural treatments of many conditions; as well has herbs, supplements and their interactions with drugs.  
PubMed Central

PubMed Central (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).  
Salud En Espaol

Health and wellness articles in Spanish.  
Hobbies & Home Improvement
ChiltonLibrary

ChiltonLibrary is a searchable database of detailed instructions for repairs and maintenance of both foreign and domestic vehicles.  
Creativebug

Introducing CreativeBug! Thousands of art and craft classes, videos, patterns, and inspiration.  
Hobbies and Crafts Reference Center

Hobbies and Crafts Reference Center provides access to full text how-to instructions for virtually every hobby enthusiast from leading hobby and craft magazines, including Bead & Button, Creative Knitting, Fine Scale Modeler, Quilter's World and more.  
Home Improvement Reference Center

Home Improvement Reference Center provides assistance with popular repair projects for your home and garden, including decorating, electrical work, maintenance, outdoor, plumbing, remodeling and woodworking.  
Indie Author Project

Through Indie Author Project, your book can be shared with patrons of participating libraries across your region.  
Pressbooks

Pressbooks is easy-to-use book writing software that lets you create a book in all the formats you need to publish. Pressbooks delivers print-ready files for CreateSpace, IngramSpark and Lightning Source, as well as ebook files optimized to look great in all ebook stores: Amazon Kindle, Apple iBooks, Nook, Kobo, Google Play and more.  
Small Engine Repair Reference Center

Search by product type, brand or model for maintenance and repair guides. Includes engines on all-terrain vehicles, generators, boat motors, motorcycles, lawnmowers, tractors and more!  

Homework & Continuing Education
Credo Reference

Credo Reference is an information skills solutions provider that serves libraries worldwide.
username: user@bcls.lib.tx.us
password: spiral9808
 
Academic Search Complete

EBSCO Academic Search Complete offers the most comprehensive collection of periodicals and full text databases.  
Explora Primary Schools

A dedicated search interface designed for primary schools, formerly known as Searchasaurus.  
Explora High Schools

A dedicated search interface designed for high schools.  
Explora Public Libraries

A dedicated search interface designed for public libraries.  
Education Resources Information Center

ERIC provides access to education literature and resources. There are more than 1.3 million records and more than 323,000 links to full-text documents from 1966 to the present.  
GCF LearnFree.org

GCF LearnFree.org offers 125 self-paced tutorials, with more than 1,100 lessons, and videos to anyone who wants to improve their technology, literacy, and math skills.  
HelpNow

With HelpNow, you are just a click away from expert tutors and a powerful suite of services to accommodate virtually any need.  
LearningExpress Library

Learning Express helps all patrons prepare for a variety of academic and civil service tests, including SAT, GED, ASVAB, police officer, firefighter, postal worker, real estate practice tests and more. Job seekers can also receive help in creating a resume and cover letter.  
MasterFILE Complete

MasterFILE Complete contains full text articles on a wide-range of subject areas including business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more. This database also provides an Image Collection containing photos, maps and flags.  
Niche Academy

Providing tutorials for common materials including eBooks, research databases, and language learning tools.  
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints

Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints is a rich resource for debaters and includes pro/con viewpoints, reference articles, interactive maps, infographics, and more  
Pronunciator

Pronunciator is a fun and easy way to learn to speak, read, and write any of 80 languages. Includes live tutors, feature films, music with lyrics, pronunciation analysis, quizzes, and more! Also features ESL for 50 non-English languages, plus free apps for Android, Apple, and Kindle Fire devices.  
ProQuest

The ProQuest platform makes hundreds of full text and A&I (abstract & index) collections accessible to researchers around the world.  
Public Library of Science

Open access science and technology research articles.  
Referencia Latina

Full-text Spanish-language database covers a broad array of subjects inside and outside academia. It offers content from a variety of sources, including reference books, general interest magazines and health reports.  
Gale in Context: Science

Gale in Context: Science is an engaging online resource providing contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics.  
SciTech Premium Collection

The SciTech Premium Collection includes the Natural Science Collection and Technology Collection databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications and more.  
Teaching Books

TeachingBooks.net is an easy-to-use website that adds a multimedia dimension to the reading experiences of children's and young adult books.  
VetNow

VetNow is focused on supporting Veterans especially returning Vets and their families. VetNow provides career and academic assistance for returning veterans during their transition back to civilian life.  
World Book Online

World Book combines technology with traditional editorial excellence to produce authoritative, trustworthy and unbiased information. The content is carefully curated and meticulously written to be easily understood. World Book publications help to build fluency and increase comprehension.  
Job Search & Job Skills
GCF LearnFree.org

GCF LearnFree.org offers 125 self-paced tutorials, with more than 1,100 lessons, and videos to anyone who wants to improve their technology, literacy, and math skills.  
Job & Career Accelerator

Job & Career Accelerator provides resources for all job-seekers.  
LearningExpress Library

Learning Express helps all patrons prepare for a variety of academic and civil service tests, including SAT, GED, ASVAB, police officer, firefighter, postal worker, real estate practice tests and more. Job seekers can also receive help in creating a resume and cover letter.  
Nursing.org

A searchable database of nursing scholarships and informative links for students interested in the nursing profession.  
VetNow

VetNow is focused on supporting Veterans especially returning Vets and their families. VetNow provides career and academic assistance for returning veterans during their transition back to civilian life.  
Literature & Poetry
Book Review Digest Plus

Book Review Digest Plus compiles book reviews on a wide range of topics, from a variety of sources including newspapers, review journals, and popular magazines.  
Chadwyck-Healy

Chadwyck-Healy 20th Century Poetry is a collection which allows readers a survey of the movements, schools and distinctive voices of modern and contemporary poetry.  
Directory of Open Access Journals

Directory of Open Access Journals is an online directory that indexes and provides access to open access, peer-reviewed journals.  
Ebook Central

Offers e-books from trusted publishers along with powerful research tools with Public Library Complete™!  
Essay and General Literature Index

The Essay and General Literature Index contains indexed essays and other writings contained in collections of essays and other works. Focuses on art history & criticism, architecture & architectural history, archaeology, antiques, museum studies, graphic arts, industrial design, landscape architecture, interior design, folk art, painting, photography, pottery, sculpture, decorative arts, costume design, television and video, motion pictures, advertising art, non-western art, textiles and much more.  
Humanities Full Text

Humanities Full Text contains provides access to articles, bibliographies, interviews, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and book reviews, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas, and more.  
Indie Author Project

Through Indie Author Project, your book can be shared with patrons of participating libraries across your region.  
Literary Reference Center

Literary Reference Center provides a collection of author biographies, plot summaries, and critical analyses of literary works from literary reference books, monographs, magazines & journals, and other publications.  
NoveList K-8

Need help finding a good book for kindergartners through eighth grade? Novelist K-8 provides reading levels and more for the grade schoolers looking for their next great read.  
NoveList Plus

Need help finding a good book? Novelist Plus provides reviews, book discussion guides, and guidance to your next great read.  
Play Index

Play Index contains approximately 34,000 plays published individually or in collections dating from 1949 to present time and includes over 600 monologues from playwrights such as Aeschylus, William Shakespeare, Moliere, Anton Checkhov, Tennessee Williams and many more.  
Pressbooks

Pressbooks is easy-to-use book writing software that lets you create a book in all the formats you need to publish. Pressbooks delivers print-ready files for CreateSpace, IngramSpark and Lightning Source, as well as ebook files optimized to look great in all ebook stores: Amazon Kindle, Apple iBooks, Nook, Kobo, Google Play and more.  
Read The Book

Help finding books for children from preschool to 8th grade.  
Short Story Index

Detailed index of short stories and where to find them in print editions.  

Personal Finance & Investing
Morningstar

Morningstar provides investment research, including stock and fund analysis, reports, and tools, as well as company, investing, and financial news.  
NewsBank

Unmatched U.S. news content from local, regional, and national sources, this resource is the largest of its kind.  
Newspaper Source Plus

Cover-to-cover full-text for more than 40 national and international newspapers. Includes full text articles.  
Science & Technology
Agricola

Contains bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library. This database contains more than 4.8 million citations. The citations are comprised of journal articles, book chapters, monographs, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture.  
Computer Source

Contains nearly 300 full-text journals and magazines covering topics such as computer science, programming, artificial intelligence, cybernetics, information systems, robotics, and software.. Computer Source™ provides a balance of full-text technical journals and full-text consumer computer titles.  
	Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts

A leading database in the areas of information science. Subject coverage includes classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management, search engines, printed and electronic information sources, the information industry, scholarly communication, electronic publishing, and more.  
Public Library of Science

Open access science and technology research articles.  
Science & Technology Collection

Contains more than 820 leading full- text journals covering relevant aspects of the scientific and technical community. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 1,750 journals. Topics include aeronautics, astrophysics, biology, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, marine sciences and materials science.  
Gale in Context: Science

Gale in Context: Science is an engaging online resource providing contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics.  
ProQuest SciTech Collection

The SciTech Premium Collection includes the Natural Science Collection and Technology Collection databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications and more.  
Sustainability Reference Center

Designed for sustainability experts and information professionals, this collection offers unmatched full-text coverage of content relevant to many integral areas of sustainability initiative management.  
Wold Book Online

World Book combines technology with traditional editorial excellence to produce authoritative, trustworthy and unbiased information. The content is carefully curated and meticulously written to be easily understood. World Book publications help to build fluency and increase comprehension.  
Test Preparation
Credo Reference

Credo Reference is an information skills solutions provider that serves libraries worldwide.
username: user@bcls.lib.tx.us
password: spiral9808
 
Driving Tests

Driving-Tests.org offers free permit practice tests.  
HelpNow

With HelpNow, you are just a click away from expert tutors and a powerful suite of services to accommodate virtually any need.  
Learning Express Library

Learning Express helps all patrons prepare for a variety of academic and civil service tests, including SAT, GED, ASVAB, police officer, firefighter, postal worker, real estate practice tests and more. Job seekers can also receive help in creating a resume and cover letter.  
Job & Career Accelerator

Job & Career Accelerator provides resources for all job-seekers.  

Alphabetical