Link to Text only Website

Show me Everything!




Search the Catalog


  By:

This tab searches articles only in EDS



Search for Journals

   Within: Search Type:
BCLS

Brazoria County Job Search Subject Guide

CAREER INFORMATION

Databases

Vocational and Career Collection
Full-text coverage for more than 350 trade and industry-related periodicals

Websites

Career One Stop
Comprises CareerOneStop, career guidance, education and training finder; CareerInfoNet, occupation, industry and state information; JobBank, subscriber based job listing; ServiceLocator, employment agencies.

Salary wizard
Match your job title, category or location with its respective salary range

Occupational Outlook Handbook
Source for career information including descriptions, working conditions, necessary education and training, earnings potential from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics

e-Books

Farr, Best jobs for the 21st century, [electronic resource]

Books

Bolles, What Color Is Your Parachute?, 331.1 BOLL

Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance, REF 331.7 ENC

JOB HUNTING SKILLS

Databases

Gale Career Transitions
Tools to assist your job search

Reference USA
Use this business and residential directory to find your job targets

Websites

Career Builder
Get help deciding on a degree, locating a job, calculating your salary.

Career One Stop
Career planning, job training, help for the newly employed.

Job Central
Browse by occupation, industry or member company. Search your metro area of internationally. Take adavantage of interest groupings such as diversity, veterans, other.

Job Hunters Bible
Job related websites.

Job-Hunt.Org
Get job-hunting tips; find networking and site resources, local, specialized links and more

JOB OPPORTUNITIES

Websites

Brazoria County Job Postings
Find current job openings

ChronicleJobs.com
Houston Chronicle job listings

Internet Job Source
Federal, state and Fortune 500 companies job sources

Monster
Look for jobs all over the country

Riley Guide
Listing of online sites and services to use in job searches

Texas Workforce Commission
Search for employers, job opportunities, information and state support for the jobless such as transportation, unemployment and career planning

The WorkSource
Employment assistance services such as job listings, career/personality match, and job fairs. Satellite offices in Alvin and Lake Jackson

USA Jobs
Government jobs all over the country and overseas

RESUME/INTERVIEW

Databases

Learning Express Library
Free courses in creating a great resume, creating a great cover letter, and interviewing

Websites

Interview center
Beef up your job interviewing skills

Salary wizard
Match your job title, category or location with its respective salary range

e-Books

Farr, Same-Day Resume, [electronic resource]

Job Hunting A-Z, [electronic resource]

VGM Career Books, Resumes for the 50+ Job Hunter: With Sample Letters, [electronic resource]

Books

Krannich, High Impact Resumes & Letters: How to Communicate Your Qualifications to Employers, 650.14 KRAN

Noble, Gallery of Best Resumes, REF 650.14 NOBL

Resumes for High School Graduates, 650.14 RESU

Yate, Resumes That Knock 'em Dead, 650.14 YATE

Last Updated: 3/28/2013 2:40:40 PM