Brazoria County Quick Reference
BRAZORIA COUNTY
Brazoria County Cemetery database, click on Cemetery tab
Accessed through the Brazoria County Historical MuseumFEMA flood plain maps
Find FEMA flood plain maps for Texas & Brazoria County online tutorialHistory of Brazoria County
Call numbers: GEN TX 976.4, TX 976.4, and REF 976.4
Subject browse keywords: Brazoria County (Tex) History
BOOK SERVICES FOR THE SIGHT IMPAIRED
Reading Service, for the blind and people with low vision
Talk live to a Librarian, free service for people with visual impairment
Texas Talking Book Program, Free library service including books and magazines in audio, Braille and large print formats
DIGITAL RESOURCES
AARP Ageline Database, free journals on topics related to aging. Search by keyword using the Basic Search
Chronicling America, Historic American newspapers available online at the Library of Congress
Project Gutenberg, Copyright free ebooks available online
GENERAL INTEREST
Bartlett’s Familiar Quotations
Call numbers: REF 808.88 BAR
Title Keyword: Bartlett’s Familiar QuotationsCredit Reports
Authorized free online reporting agencies endorsed by the Federal Trade Commission, the nation’s consumer protection agencyIRS Forms and Publications
Search Keyword: [form title and year]Robert’s Rules of Order
Call numbers 060.42 CAN and REF 060.4 ROB
Title Keyword: Robert’s Rules of OrderTexas Driver’s license resources
United States Postal Service - Zip Codes
Driver Ed in a Box - Parent taught program
License to Drive [electronic resource]: Learn the Basics Everybody Needs to Know to Pass the Driver’s Test
CD-ROM 629.283 NAT
Subject Browse keyword: Driver education
National Driver Training Institute help for the teenager who wants to drive [videorecording] VIDEO 629.283 NAT
Subject Browse keyword: Automobile training education
Texas Department of Public Safety - Driver’s License information
Texas Education Agency - Approved driver training curriculum
POPULAR SUBJECTS
Native Americans
Call numbers: 970 to 979, J970 to J979
Subject browse: Indians of North America; Name of a specific tribePoetry
Call numbers: 811 and 821
Subject browse: Poetry
READY REFERENCE
Encyclopedia Britannica
Call number: REF 030 ENC
All Title Browse Keyword: Encyclopedia BritannicaInformation PleaseAlmanac, Atlas, Thesaurus, Timeline
Merriam Webster’s Dictionary
Call numbers REF 423 MER and 423 MER
All Title Browse Keyword: Merriam Webster’s Dictionary
STUDENT AND TEACHER RESOURCES
CLEP exam resources
Microsoft 2003 & 2007 Word, Excel, and Powerpoint online tutorials
- Test Study Manuals (ACT, GRE, SAT)
Call number: 378
Subject browse: Scholastic Aptitude Test – Study guides Teacher Video Resource
Free on demand educational videos provided by Annenberg FoundationTexas Education Agency
TEXeS teacher certification practice tests and study guides
ACT Assessment- Study guides
General educational development tests- Study Guides
Teachers—Certification—Texas
Teaching—Texas—Examinations—Study Guides
TEXAS
Statistics on the State of Texas, Texas counties and cities
Call numbers: REF 312 TEX, REF 317.64 TEX
Subject browse keywords: Texas StatisticsTexas Adoption Resources Exchange
Resources for adopting a child in TexasTexas Air Quality Conditions and Forecasts AIRNow, nationwide daily air quality forecasts. AIRNow includes The Guide to Air Quality and Your Health, an explanation of the Air Quality Index
Texas Declaration of Independence
Call numbers: TX 917.64 HAN
Subject browse keywords: Texas History Revolution 1835-1836Texas State Historical Association
A Digital Gateway to Texas HistoryTexas Online
The official portal of TexasAbout Texas
Wide variety of information about Texas from the Texas State Library and Archives commissionTexas State Song
Call numbers: TX 784, TX 784.4, REF 781.599
Subject browse keywords: Songs – Texas, Folk Songs – Texas