About BCLS

General Description of the Library System

The Brazoria County Library System consists of twelve libraries located in various cities throughout the County.  The Library System is unique in that we have a contractual agreement with various cities.  The City is responsible for providing the building for the library facility and maintaining the building.  The County is responsible for staffing the libraries and the purchase of library materials.  The libraries are located in the following cities: Alvin, Angleton, Brazoria, Clute, Danbury, Freeport, Lake Jackson, Manvel, Pearland, Sweeny, and West Columbia.  We offer a variety of services, and the Library System’s goal is to serve all areas of Brazoria County.

Mission Statement

The Brazoria County Library System serves the educational, informational, and recreational needs of the library users. Its mission is to provide library resources for citizens of all ages. The library strives to achieve the highest level of service, while stressing convenience, speed of access, and quality of information.

How To Get A Library Card

Policy and Procedure Manual